Diane Keaton

So for my first official post, you know it has to be about Diane Keaton. She is THE fashion icon. If you are not aware as to who this legendary woman is, well let me inform you.

Diane is an actress and comedian. The movies she is known for include, Annie Hall, the Godfather trilogy, Father of the Bride, Red, Somethings Gotta Give, The First Wives Club, and many more. Although she is an extraordinary actress, the thing that makes her stand out is her style.

When I think of Diane, I think of suits, bowler hats, and her adorable laugh. 

 

f9160bfd81f208f99d337d633c300762--diane-keaton-girl-power

 

Diane has the most unique sense of style that I have ever seen. There is no one else like her. She is famous for wearing almost nothing but black and white. Big belts, stripes, polka dots, tinted glasses, scarves, houndstooth, and so many hats.

As far as I’m concerned, Diane Keaton is the queen of hats. 

 

 

She took menswear for women, and made it her own. A suit just feels like part of who she is. Diane is undeniably herself at all times. Whether that be poking fun at herself, or talking about her struggles with bulimia, she is extremely relatable.

The film that put Diane on the map was Annie Hall, and not only was it great for her career, but it made waves in the fashion world. What I find the most interesting about her style in this film, was that the director, Woody Allen, let her choose her own wardrobe. This was Diane’s own clothes from her closet that took Hollywood by storm. People in the 1970’s weren’t used to seeing a woman in a suit, but she made it super casual. She has said that her character of Annie was basically herself with a different name. Diane got to express herself and her sense of style into a character, and she has never been the same since.

 

 

 

Her style has been trending with many fashion girls. They have begun wearing more suits, and clothes that are not traditionally for women. With the current trend of androgyny coming back, it is no surprise that Diane’s menswear look is catching on.

 

 

 

She makes me want to raid the mens section of Joseph A. Bank and make it my own, and makes me not want to wear leggings and a sweatshirt everyday, but actually express myself with what I choose to put on my body. Diane Keaton is my biggest source of fashion inspiration, and she has made me fall in love with menswear.

 

gg_dianekeaton

 

Diane, thank you for pushing the boundaries of fashion. 

 

014-diane-keaton-theredlist

 

In my eyes you will always be the reigning queen of menswear, and I aspire to be different, just like you. 

Love Claudia.

Leave a comment